DPS Srinagar Students Embrace Glorious Moment

DPS Srinagar Students Embrace Glorious Moment


A group of eleven students from DPS Srinagar, Hadi Imtiyaz, Syed Ahmed Ibaad Bukhari, Sheikh Muhammad Eisa, Zaara Farooq, Sehr Un Nisa, Musa Muttaqee, Adeeba Bilal, Zainab Iqbal, Imad Tahir, Saaeed Bazilah Kirmani and Syed Imaad Hussain participated in the Eighth Edition of Model United Nations (MUN) held at La Martiniere Girls’ College Lucknow from 5th July to 8th July 2023. Ms Gowhar Yaqoob accompanied the group to Lucknow.

Model United Nations (MUN) is a platform for young students to come together from diverse backgrounds and regions in India and abroad, to role-play delegates to the United Nations and simulate UN Committees with agendas. This provides the students an opportunity to engage in debates concerning the global crisis and issues, to become familiar with diplomacy, international relations and procedural functioning of the UN. This allows the students to think through the global issues and provide solutions to the problems honing their creativity, global awareness and debating skills.

LGMUN at Lucknow was a four-day long event starting from July 5, 2023 to July 8, 2023. In these four days, the students deliberated on their agendas, debated the issues and moved toward providing resolutions to the identified crisis. The students were part of different committees: UNGA, JCC, INTERPOL, IPC, UNCSW and AIGS. There were 2-3 sessions each day in the conference where the students expressed their thoughts and ideas. LGMUN 2023 was an event filled with exalting discussions and students deliberated with eagerness including meeting new people from other places and making new friendships. Every delegate contributed to the discussion passionately and exhibited greater knowledge of issues, research abilities, and critical analysis.

There were around over 400 student delegates from 30 reputed schools across the country and abroad. DPS Srinagar bagged 6 awards in the conference. Adeeba Bilal and Syed Ahmed Ibaad Bukhari won the Best Delegate award, Syed Imaad Hussain, Sehr Un Nisa, Zaara Farooq won the Special Mention award and Imad Tahir won the Verbal Mention.